Two for Tham Mirdain?

Ganin and Az at school

Okay so this is a little late in being posted but I thought I’d better write a little something on Ganin and Azaghar’s escapades in Eregion. We originally planned to skim through, but ended up completing every single quest here, including the School and Library, which we sucessfully duoed. The quests and mobs in there were 51-53 and Ganin and Az were 55-56 , so were above level, but still it felt like an achievement to duo them. Adam had been in many times, on various alts and I had only tried once. That time was on my 65 Tank, and we were pulling whole rooms at a time for a laugh to see how quick we could advance the pale folk and crebain deeds. So I can’t really say that I was particularly familiar with the layout and tactics of the place. All I can say is thank god for in game chat! It meant that we could both be on the same page and shout out when we were gonna stun, heal, go mad on dps, or if we accidentally got aggro of something else.

We started in the Library, with Adam laying down some heal over times, and we would munch some food – including the poison resist Lamb and Barley soup, and then I would pull as small as possible groups of mobs. I’d start in fervour to try and get them down quickly, using blade wall and the horn as much as possible, and concentrating on getting the pale folk mobs down first before the orc overseers. This worked very well, and if I was taking too much damage I’d switch to Ardour or Glory to make it a bit easier for Adam to heal me. It got a little tricky in the corridoor when we pulled twice as many adds as we intended to, which added alot of nasty poison debuffs, but we did it. The first boss would have been pretty straight forward except that I ran a little two far back when trying to aggro all the adds which reset the boss, and instantly reaggroed him and brought on all the adds again! Needless to say we wiped but did it second time round. The rest of the instance was straight forward. Baged a few deeds in there too, getting determination, justice, idealism and wisdom and a load of titles, and a butload of xp too.

Next we tried the school – Id never been in here before at all, so it was entirely new to me. We followed pretty much the same strategy as before, the only thing I changed was that I swapped my off hand weapon for one which did light damage for the first boss – a damage type which the adds on the first boss are more succeptible to in here, and mean they went down a little quicker. This all was pretty straight forward; pull the small groups of dunlendings then run around the corner to break line of sight of the uruk archers. This time Adam would start by pulling the archer with chilling rhetoric – a frost skill which makes a single mob run very slow, and I would kill the normal health dunlending adds that ran to us – they were generally dead by the time the archer caught up, if not Adam would stun it and we would carry on DPS’ing the lowest health mobs. Then we cleared the boss in the garden bit which was alot easier than we had anticipated. Upstairs was a boss with two reasonably high health adds, so we simple killed the adds, and then the boxx, Adam healing whilst I tanked/dpsed. Then when he was down, we came to a room filled with uruks and dunlendings and the Final boss, but it was easy enough to pull the adds in groups of two to three until the boss was on its own. This was a very straight forward boss, just a typical tank and spank, the only thing was that he hit damn hard – sometimes about 1-1.5k at a time, but nothing the two of us couldn’t handle. I started in controlled burn so Adam could heal me without me losing dps, and then when the boss had about 9-10k left Adam switched to dps mode and we just burned him down.

I really enjoyed doing these, and am definately gonna try them again when my next toon gets up here.

Emma

Posted on September 11, 2010, in Dwarf Adventures, Games Guides and Advice. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

