Outfitting a Dwarf – Ganin

Adam has done a series of posts looking at some of his cosmetic outfits, and I thought it time that I joined in. Having got our first characters to 75 a few weeks ago (we meandered to 75), and looking at every quest reward and crafted item for both its stats and cosmetic value, I had a lot of choice. The designers with this expansion have gone to town on cosmetics, and as a result I had a vault full of stuff that I liked the look of. Saying that, it can be very difficult to outfit a Dwarf – the proportions do not lend themselves well to many outfits which would look great on one of the other races. Dwarfs have thick, slightly bowed legs, large forearms, broad shoulders and a thick chest, and often depending on the build, a paunch too. All of this means that many armour and cosmetic items distort too much as they are stretched to fit the Dwarf physique.

I’ve always struggled to find an outfit on my legion of Dwarfs (other than the Khazad Guard Uniform) which I really like, but now utilising the new armour quest rewards and new Tier 7 crafted items, I’ve found one that I’m pretty happy with. Most of the new quest rewards in Rise of Isengard have a medieval feel to them, which suit the bulky Dwarfs, although beware of some of the helmets- while they look good they completely remove the facial hair of the wearer. Now who wants to play a beardless Dwarf?

Armour: Forged Iron Dunlending Hauberk, Crimson Dye, Heavy Armour quest reward.

Shoulders: Potent Calenard War Paldrons, Crimson Dye, Heavy Armour Westfold crafted level 66

Gloves: Warriors Buckled Gauntlets, Crimson Dye, Medium Armour quest reward

Boots: Reinforced Leather Dunlending Boots, undyed, Medium Armour quest reward

Cloak: Embroidered Cloak of the Dunland Healer, Crimson Dye, quest reward.

I love this chest piece, and would recommend anyone get it as a quest reward purely for its cosmetic value, it looks good on all races and dyes really well. As you can see from my chosen outfit, I really like the crimson dye. The red spectrum of dyes always make a big impact on colouring cosmetics and often I use a mix of red, burgundy and crimson in my outfits, depending on the base colour of the item I want to dye. I chose the gloves because they were fingerless, and to my mind much better for gripping the two axes Ganin habitually uses. The shoulder guards, with chased metal underneath and rich fur on top look great, and are a happy medium for Dwarfs in the cosmetic stakes. Large shoulder guards, especially the heavy armour ones, can often be too extreme on a muscular Dwarf, whereas some of the medium armour ones can make the shoulders too narrow. The light armour shoulders, especially the ones which resemble a scarf, can make a Dwarf look too round, and remind me of an egg. The ones that I chose here, are broad shoulder guards, but the fur softens them down again, without detracting from the detail on the hauberk. I could say something profound about the cloak but I’m not going to. It’s got dragons on it and looks ace, and the green and red go with the red of the hauberk, and un-dyable green parts on its arms.

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Cosmetics, Just for Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You’ve done a great job highlighting the particular dangers of dwarf fashion, and coming up with a solution! We need a post on dwarf fashion disasters to show people what to avoid AT ALL COST!

Leave a Reply

